New poem from Gareth Jones

Here’s a new poem by Gareth Jones, who opens the Days of Roses anthology. It was written for Roddy Lumsden’s 28 Project which took place last night at the Betsey Trotwood.

The Cats

Saturday breakfast. Out on the lawn
the local cats try to murder each other.
The ginger tom turns tail with a howl
chased up the oak by a tabby neighbour.

You look up, concerned, but go back to browsing
your brochure – Cruises on the Indian Ocean –
while I brace myself for the next round of nagging,
my weekend to-do list lying mainly undone.

High in the branches, the tom starts to yowl,
and I wonder if it were me stuck up there
would you dust off the ladder to ferry me down,
or crouch by the thorn bush purring my name?
Then return later on with a milk-laden saucer
if I dig in my claws and cry at the moon?

Gareth Jones:

http://www.tall-lighthouse.co.uk/p_gareth-jones.html

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

